Step Out: Walk to Fight Diabetes

Posted: October 6, 2010 by Adam Day in Other
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

March 29th, 2008. This was a big day for me. This is the day I married my beautiful wife, Emily. This would turn out to be one of the happiest days of my life. However, this day has other meanings as well. This would be the day I would begin helping to find a cure for Diabetes. I have been involved in several charities and events in my time, but none mean as much to me as this one. This is definitely not a “Road Rage” topic, but hey, not all of them have been about rage right? And it has been a while since we have written anything at all, so just be happy we are still here. I know you missed us! HA.

On October 30th, 2010 my wife, son, and I will be headed to the Botanical Gardens in Huntsville to Step Out. This is put on by the American Diabetes Association. Step Out, Walk to Fight Diabetes. We are very excited about this since this is the first time we have become so involved in raising money and awareness for this disease.

No More Pricking!

Emily found out she was diabetic at the age of 14, and since has been insulin dependent. When I watch someone like her that has to inject themselves with insulin everyday and after every time they eat it makes me have a world of respect for what they go through. When they can do this everyday like it’s nothing, it gives me encouragement that I can go on each day and overcome my “problems”. Sometimes I forget how small my “problems” really are. When I get cut off in traffic, forget to stop for gas, don’t have enough money for a hamburger, or as ‘big’ as not being able to pay a bill on time. These things can really get someone (ME!) stressed out. Sometimes I have to step back and realize that there are people around us who are just lucky to be alive. They are happy that they are still living. Emily has had Diabetes for 10 years now, she is only 24 years old. The things that we will experience together as she battles this horrible disease are things that no one wants to talk about. On June 28th of 2009 my son was born. The joy of being a parent, words cannot describe. So far he is doing fine and no signs of Diabetes. But we will always wonder if that day will come, like it did for Emily at an early age. I don’t want to see him have to go through what his mother does.

No More Sticking!

So I’m asking for you to help us find a cure for this disease. For my wife so she can live a long healthy life, for my son to make sure he never has to worry about this, and for the millions of others who are diabetic, whether Type 1 or Type 2. One dollar at a time and one step at a time, we can find a cure.

I will try to take pictures and let everyone know how the walk goes. Or, you could just come with us!

Thank you for the time it took to read this. For whatever you want to give, money, time, or just a thought and a prayer. Thank you.

*If you would like to donate or sign up and walk with us, click here.

**For more information about Diabetes, click here.

Leave a Reply

