What Is Your Attitude Problem?

Posted: July 29, 2010 by Adam Day in Other
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Here is a little song I wrote,
You might want to sing it note for note,
Don’t worry, be happy.
In every life we have some trouble,
When you worry you make it double,
Don’t worry, be happy…….

Cause when you worry
Your face will frown,
And that will bring everybody down
So don’t worry, be happy.”
-Bobby McFerrin

What kind of attitude did you wake up with today? Were you in a bad mood from the start? Did you wake up happy that you were alive? Or, did you just wake up and not really think about it, getting ready for another busy day of the same old routine?

I started asking myself this question the other day, “What is your attitude problem”? It’s hard to be in a good mood all the time, trust me I know this. Everyday brings you new challenges, new ways to bring you down. For example on the way home from work the other morning, my car quit on me. Now have to see if we can get that fixed. It would be nice to just go buy a new car, but there is another issue, money problems. Yes you heard that right, I’m in the same group with most everyone else in the world with money problems. My wife and I currently have our house up for sale and it doesn’t seem like it will ever sale. Now before you start feeling sorry for us and thinking those poor kids have to sell their house, no it isn’t like that. We chose to put the house up for sale for different reasons. Not because we had to. Thank the Lord it isn’t like that or we would probably be living out of our car right now since this isn’t exactly the best “house buying” market.

That is just a few problems that people face every day. So yes, it can be very hard to walk around with a smile on your face and be happy day to day. But I want to challenge everyone, along with myself, to try and look at the bright side of things. My car broke down. At least I had a car to break down right? My house won’t sell. In the meantime I’m living in a house and not under a bridge, or a tent in the woods during 100 degree weather in the summertime and freezing temperatures in the winter. According to Back on my Feet , it was reported that some 1.56 million Americans were homeless at some point in 2009. I have plenty to be thankful for, but sometimes I let the negatives in life cover up the positives. Sometimes I forget how lucky of a person I really am. I have a good job that pays my bills. I have a wonderful wife that treats me with love and truly cares how I feel. I have a son that brightens my life every day. No matter how down you are, if you could just see his grin I promise it will make your whole day better. I have a family that stands behind me and is there for me whenever I need anything. I have friends that I can call anytime, day or night, and they would be there for me. Oh ya, and I’m alive. I woke up today. I got out of the bed on my own, and walked across the room. Before I go to bed I have the option of saying a prayer, thanking God for what he has given me in life. Things like being able to wake up, walk, put on my own clothes, take a shower without help, pray to who I want to. These things we take for granted every day.

So next time we start thinking about how horrible our day is going, or how bad off we have it, let’s try and think of these things. We are able to talk and walk. We have the freedom to complain about our bad day. And if none of that works, smile. Just smiling works miracles. I’m smiling now as I’m typing this, I can’t help it, I just saw a picture of my son grinning. Picture something you love, your kids or a family member smiling, or just a big bowl of chocolate ice cream covered in chocolate syrup. Hey, whatever works right? I think I’ll go get some ice cream now.

Don’t worry, be happy.

Comments
  1. Rick says:

    Amen, Adam! Everyone able to read this has so much to be thankful for! Life, family, friends make it worthwhile. The small stuff comes and goes…..

Leave a Reply

