From Homeless to Man’s Best Friend

Posted: July 24, 2010 by Adrian Sanders in Other
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever had a friend that is always there for you? No matter how you treat them or talk to them, they are still your best friend. They are always willing to listen to your problems, take on your burdens and they never ask for much in return. I have a friend like that. His name is Ace and he has four legs. Adopting a dog has by far been one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life. I must admit that in the beginning I was a little skeptical on whether or not I should have done this. I have definitely cleaned up my fair share of puke, poop and things where I wasn’t quite sure which end it came out of. But in the end, it was all worth it. I have a best friend for life.

When I was considering adopting, I debated for a long time on what kind of dog I wanted. There were several breeds I had in mind, but it didn’t take long to realize that if I wanted to get breed specific, I was going to have to write a big check. So I began browsing some of the local adoption shelters on the internet. I never really found one that I was totally interested in so I finally decided to just visit one and see what came of it. At the time, I lived in an apartment so I figured a small dog would be best. After browsing around, I didnt see any puppies that I was interested in. As I was walking back toward the door, I feel something touch my foot. I look down and there was the cutest little puppy that had stuck his paw through his cage and tried to grab my foot. Now, as I stated, I wanted a small dog and this one was already bigger than a chihuahua. But how was I supposed to turn that down? Long story short, I went back the next day to pick up my newly adopted dog which I later named Ace. Even longer story short, this little lap dog now weighs 130 pounds!

This brings me to the point of my blog. If you are considering adopting a furry friend, whether it be cat, dog or what have you, please consider giving a homeless animal a loving home. So many people get wrapped up in wanting a specific breed that they are willing to pay thousands of dollars. When I got Ace, I paid a $65 adoption fee. Don’t get me wrong here. I am all for paying adoption fees and such to help support the cause of the shelter. Im not even against paying nominal fees to a breeder because I know it costs them money to operate. I just have a serious issue with some breeders out there asking prices in the thousands just because they are trying to make unbelievable amounts of money simply by placing a price on a life. Personally, I have a serious issue with myself if I were to spend that amount of money on a puppy when there are millions out there who need a home. Furthermore, it bothers me to know that millions of these dogs have seen there final day of life simply because there was nobody to adopt them. Its terrible. Animals are put to death every single day simply because there was nobody to love them. This breaks my heart. I wish like everything that I could adopt every single homeless animal (except snakes and rats, somebody else will have to handle that for me) but obviously its just not possible.

It also bothers me when someone insists their intention of adopting a thousand dollar dog is because they want one that is AKC registered. One word…why? So you have papers saying this dog is full blooded. Unless you are showing this dog, what is the point? My dog is far from full blooded, I don’t even know what kind of dog he is and I really don’t care. Why should I think any different of my dog just because he isn’t full blooded? One issue I have with the American Kennel Club is that they quit recognizing Pit Bulls as a breed. To save you the extensive reading, I won’t even get started on that topic. I will simply say, a dog is like a child. Raise it in a good manner and you will have a good dog. A Pit Bull should not be put to sleep just because it was born a Pit Bull.

So if you are thinking about adopting, please give a homeless pet a home. Go to your local shelter or only support a breeder who doesn’t price gouge. If you are unsure of the impact a dog may have on your life, I have a homework assignment for you. Go buy the book called “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein and give it a read. This is by far one of the best books I have ever read. Ace and I give it two thumbs up…..well, okay, Ace would if he had thumbs. And if you still aren’t for sure if you want a four legged friend, go rent the movie “Marley and Me”. If you make it through this book and movie without getting watery eyed, then please don’t adopt a dog. I will however consider you for the snake and rat program.

Comments
  1. Adam Day says:

    *sniff*
    I can’t wait to get home and love my dogs and cat! ha
    I love my two pit bulls (one is pictured above). My cat was adopted from a shelter. I used to hate cats, but this one is awesome!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Awesome post! I always love seeing your posts about Ace 🙂

  3. Oh my, cuteness. Ace is adorable (even at the 130 pounds). I think my children have *almost* gotten us to the point of adopting a dog. *Almost* You don’t want to know what happened to the gerbils. 😉

    • Adrian says:

      It’s hard to be friends with gerbils anyways lol. Just go for it. I can honestly say I was wishy washy on adopting too. Turned out to be the best decision ever. I wish the same for you.

Leave a Reply

