Oil Spill: Making a Difference

Posted: July 2, 2010 by Adam Day in Rants and Raves
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

So the other day I wrote a little bit about the oil spill in the gulf. A lot of what I wrote about was the fact that not many, if any at the time, celebrities were helping out and donating money to the oil spill clean up. Since then BP has set up a fund to help the men and women that are out of work because of their huge mistake. I say mistake very lightly since all this very well could have been avoided with proper safety equipment, but we will never know. I was asked by several people why was I upset that celebrities were not helping the oil spill clean up if I myself wasn’t helping out. No they didn’t mean for me to put on some rubber boots, rubber gloves, helmet, and mask then take the trip to the gulf and start filling up a jar with oil. They were simply asking why I hadn’t taken the initiative to start some sort of fund I guess like a bank account and then donate the money to the oil spill relief. Well I don’t know. Guess you got me there. Since then I’m actually looking into a few charities that could help with the animal clean up, since BP is obviously not worried about them. At least they are trying to get the oil up now. According to Guardian.co.uk, “Endangered sea turtles and other marine creatures are being corralled into 500 square-mile “burn fields” and burnt alive in operations intended to contain the oil from BP’s ruptured well in the Gulf of Mexico, the Obama administration confirmed today.” The Obama administration confirmed the kills and said BP was under orders to avoid killing the animals. Guess they didn’t get that memo. Maybe someone should send them a message. Mr. President I pick you. Next time you decide to take a golf trip, how about you instead take another trip to the Gulf and slap some heads around until someone starts to listen. Well I got off on a little tangent there, anyways I’m looking at different charities that would actually help. If anyone knows of any and has any ideas for starting a fund, or just wants to help, please e-mail me or at least comment on this blog.

Now, what I was getting to before I ran off into left field. I agree if I want to complain about others not helping then I should first myself help. However, I’m not the one that was running over to Haiti to help build a house or donating a few million bucks to get my name in the paper. That being said, I have to give a shout out to Kevin Costner. According to YAHOO News, Kevin Costner has developed a device that can separate oil and water. I’m sure many of you have heard about this at sometime or another. YAHOO says he has spent $20 million dollars over the past 15 years developing this machine. So whoever wants to say that he is throwing his name out to the media and trying to look good, read again the part about this has been in development the past 15 years. So I just want to say thank you to Kevin Costner (and all the engineers that he hired) for actually giving a rip and trying to help in some way. Also thank you to Ocean Therapy Solutions for manufacturing the device. Yahoo says the device can take in thousands of gallons of oil-tainted water and remove 99% of the oil. The device can process 128,000 barrels of water a day, finally. So thank you Kevin Costner and to all who have been involved in making this machine. You have made a difference.

Comments
  1. […] their posts, they’re always complaining about something. Whether it’s FedEx, or the oil spill, or alternative medicine, they’ve got an opinion on just about everything. Their opinions are […]

Leave a Reply

