“Hello, can I help you?”

Posted: June 28, 2010 by Adrian Sanders in Rants and Raves

Today I thought I would write about something that absolutely bugs the pee out of me…..the lack of customer service in this world. There is nothing that ticks me off any worse than choosing to do business somewhere only to be treated like they could care less if I was there or not. What ever happened to being treated like someone appreciates you as a customer? Its definitely a lost art.

Personally, I dont necessarily know everything that contributes to todays lack of customer service, but Im sure it starts with people who dont want to work for a living. I absolutely hate going to a drive through to pick up some food and when you drive up to the window, some little punk kid just looks at you and holds out their hand. What ever happened to “hello, how are you?”….or at the very least, kindly repeating how much money I owe you. Today I realized our laziness as a society is beating down customer service even more. My brother and I decided to stop at McDonalds for an ice cream cone. When you pull up to the speaker, there is now a recording that says “today we are featuring our chicken sandwich, order when ready”. I mean come on! The least you can do as a McDonalds manager is teach your workers to be kind by keying up the drive thru microphone and simply saying “Welcome to McDonalds, may I take your order?” Plus it is annoying to me to hear two different voices when they repeat the order back (if they even bother to do that). How much effort does it really take to be kind to a customer at McDonalds?

Its not just restaurants that are experiencing this downfall. Its basically everywhere you go. Take Wal-mart for example. When was the last time you went there and actually had someone ask if they could help you find something? Now, me being a guy I pretty much just go look for things on my own and if I dont find it then they dont have it. But it sure would be nice to know someone is willing to help if needed. Heaven forbid you do need to ask someone for help, good luck finding that help or someone who is willing to do so. While Im on the topic of retail chains, Ive gotta give a shout out to one of my alma maters, Bass Pro Shop. I worked for their store in Concord, NC for almost two years. I was always very impressed with how the whole Bass Pro Shop company looked at customer service as a whole. Our store had a daily morning meeting where it was drilled into us to take care of our customers. It was never acceptable for you to tell a customer that their question pertained to something not in your department. If you couldnt handle the customer’s issue, you found someone that could. It was also told to us that if a customer asks where something is, you dont tell them where it is….you take them to it. You always wanted to put the product in the customers hand. I worked in the warehouse at the store, but I can remember many times of walking through the store and being approached by customers. I always did my part by helping the customer. This made me feel good because I knew that this is how I wanted to be treated as a customer. I havent worked there in over 6 years now but I sincerely hope this standard of customer service still holds true today. If so, kudos to the whole company for continuing to do it correctly.

I leave you today asking you to do one thing. If you go somewhere and get treated like a customer, let them know how much you appreciate it. Whether its asking for a manager, calling their home office, or just thanking the person that helped you, express your sincere appreciation. Myself, I will go out of my way and sometimes even pay more if I know I will get treated right. Unfortunately, these such places are getting harder and harder to find every day.

Look for our book entitled “You: The Customer” coming to a book shelf near you (Ha).

Comments
  1. Joe says:

    Hey, for once I agree with pretty much everything you wrote here! Nothing irks me more than going through a drive thru and feeling like I’m inconveniencing the people working there by ordering food. Target was the same way with customer service when I worked there, we were supposed to go up to every customer and ask if we could help them find something. It’s kind of irritating to me as a customer, because for the most part I don’t like to be bothered when I’m shopping–I’ll ask for help if I need it. But it’s still nice to know there are people around to help if you need them.

  2. Bailey says:

    Adrian I love reading your blog posts. The girls I work with and I always get on and see what your ranting about today. Then have a converstaion about the topic all day arguing our own point, Finally somone in this world who’s not afraid to speak their mind!! Thanks!!

  3. Adrian says:

    Thanks for the compliment…..so these girls, are any of them single? Do I need to blog about that? HA!

  4. Adam Day says:

    Adrian, the book “You: The Customer” already has some chapters filled ha. Now we just need to get together at work and put some finishing touches on it. Like a publisher.

  5. James says:

    I have lost my mind on the phone with customer service people! However, I will say I had to deal with fedex, while tracking my iPhone, I called them everyday for 4 or 5 days straight. Everyday the people were exceptionally friendly.
    How about calling a buisness for customer service and not being able to understand the foreign person on the other end.

  6. Adrian says:

    yeah especially when they get mad at you because you keep asking them to repeat themselves…..learn to speak English idiot (preferably southern style)

  7. Earlene says:

    I about had a heart attack the other day when I went thru the drive thru at the new Jack’s on Winchester. The girl was so upbeat and polite, like she was actually enjoying being nice! She even used the phrase “Thank you” about 3 times in the course of taking my order. I also miss the grocery store chain Safeway from Phoenix. They had classes for their employees on customer service, and if they got caught NOT smiling and asking if they could help you they got sent back to class. I almost got to the point where I would cringe shopping in their stores, cause you normally ran into an employee in nearly every isle……lol. Although when I first moved here I thought alot of people were crazy. Most people I ran into in stores and such were almost too friendly compared to people in Phoenix. Here they will meet you eye to eye and talk to you like a long lost friend and they have never met you before in their life. In Phoenix most people would rather shoot you than look at you. Plus, here we kind of all speak the same language. Although that is change here too.

  8. Adrian says:

    Yeah its a shame that we get surprised now days when we get good service

  9. Adam Day says:

    Adrian I told Emily we were going to start having some sort of weekly critic deal…guess we will have to start eating out once a week haha.

Leave a Reply

